zine, [zeen] noun. 1. abbr. of fanzine; 2. any amateurly-published periodical. Oxford Reference

..

Monday, October 16, 2017

NickName - Issue 1

Nick Name Issue 1
Hurley Winkler and Aysha Miskin

24 Pages
Size: Digest
Printer Paper - bound with staples
$4.00 + Shipping

Ohhhhhh myyyyy!!

NICK NAME, a new zine series by Hurley Winkler and Aysha Miskin, hits EVERY MARK that I enjoy and look for in a zine - every single one.

This little zine, handmade in Jacksonville, Florida, is packed full with art, poetry, letters and various other little surprises. Printed in black and white on simple paper and bound with staples, this zine has a lot to offer in such a little package.


A mere 24 pages, this zine offers so much of what I like and what I like to see. Heavily influenced by pop-culture today, these ladies seem to be some of the rare young people today who GET IT and SCREAM IT.

Being young is hard, and this zine manages to cover the angst that some young people are too afraid to express in their work throughout art and creative writing.

This zine has everything to fulfill the angst that some people are too afraid to scream out. There aren't enough young writers like this out there telling the hard, beautiful truths of youth. Winkler and Miskin do an amazing job at exposing those truths.

Purchase a copy here!

Social Media:

FB - Nickname Zine
IG - @nicknamezine

Review by Daniel Peralta
Completed on 10/16/2017; 9:58 PM CST

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Headwinds - Issue #1

A4, 24 pages (23 black and white pages, colour front cover).
 £1.50 (+£1 p&p)

Headwinds… refers to things blowing in the opposite direction to the one you’re moving in,” explains Mike G in the introduction to his fanzine of the same name. This theme of pushing through mainstream culture persists throughout the first issue, which contains comics, band interviews and reviews.

The layout of Headwinds is immaculate; it looks less like a zine and more like something you’d find in your local newsagents nestled between NME and Mojo. The time invested in its quality makes it a pleasant read – there’s no text disappearing into the centre crease or dodgy photocopying going on here.

Whilst aesthetic appeal is important, it means nothing without compelling content. Luckily, Headwinds is as interesting as it is pretty. Given that the zine only costs £1.50 (£2.50 online), I was surprised by just how much content there was – a couple of lengthy interviews, comics, articles, and tons of underground gig reviews – and how decidedly different the items were from those typically seen in mass-produced magazines.   

I particularly enjoyed the interview with Emma, lead singer of The Natterers, which covered topics such as world environmental issues, the perks and dangers of living in a digital age and the declining bat population in the UK. It was weird, and I liked it.

Stranger still was Mike G’s retrospective account of the Treeworgery Tree Festival, which he attended in the summer of 1989. Waiting 28 years after the fact to write about an obscure festival in Cornwall doesn’t make sense. It just doesn’t. But it was so well-written that I found myself filled with nostalgia for a place I’d never been, and for a time in which I hadn’t existed. I found myself feeling increasingly wistful for hitch-hiking, serendipitous friendships and weekend tickets for £20.

Headwinds feels like a relic from the past, but it doesn't come across as dated. Perhaps it’s Mike G’s unabashed enthusiasm for the stuff he’s writing about that gives the zine a fresh, current feel, or maybe it’s down to its overall polished appearance. Who knows? The one thing that’s clear is that it’s very tricky to write about underground culture in an accessible way, and Headwinds is an excellent example of how to do it correctly.

To keep up with Headwinds’ latest updates, you can follow @tblastzine on Twitter. You can get a copy of your own through PayPal by emailing tblastzine@gmail.com.


Review by JL Corbett. 

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Cheeky Monkey

16.5cm x 24cm, 32 colour pages, colour cover.

£3.50 p&p


One of the great things about zines is that they can be about absolutely anything. Having said that, I was rather taken aback recently when a guy approached my stall at Leeds Zine Fair and handed me what appeared to be a zine geared towards children.

Cheeky Monkey follows its eponymous character and his raccoon sidekick on their bizarre, occasionally psychedelic quest to uncover the truth about unseen character Ali-Ra-Ra, and why he’s pestering the entire jungle community for avocados. The story manages to be zany enough for kids to enjoy, whilst remaining sufficiently wholesome to keep their parents happy.

The creators (Fred Morris and Dominic Linton of King Louie's Lab) have clearly done their homework with Cheeky Monkey. They’ve borrowed devices from kids’ television programmes and made them work on the page. The narrative voice is reminiscent of the speaking style from currently popular cartoons such as Peppa Pig or We Bare Bears, and the main characters pose on the back cover like they’re in the opening credits of a kids’ TV show.

It’s a good effort from the South London zine-makers, especially considering that they’re treading new ground in marketing their zines to children. With luck, Cheeky Monkey could be a gateway for younger readers discovering the world of zines.

Cheeky Monkey is available for purchase here.


Review by JL Corbett.

Friday, September 15, 2017

BEARQUEFT Comix #2

BEARQUEFT Comix #2
Charlie Haggard and other artists

40 Pages
Size: Digest
Cardstock - bound with staples
$5.00 + Shipping

Charlie Haggard comes back with a punch with the second issue in the BEARQUEFT series.

Digest size and bound with cardstock and staples, Haggard manages to bring back his darkly humored (in a good way!) comics while also showcasing some new artists to look out for!

While this is a more collaborative work than the first, Haggard does an amazing job at finding artwork that strongly fits in with the overall theme that this comic strives for.

The phony ads and original characters of the first did not disappoint, and added some light to where the series is going.

That being said, I am looking for to seeing other collaborative works in this series and trust Haggard will do an amazing job at reeling it all together.

Purchase a copy here!

Also, check out the review of the first issue here!

Review by Daniel Peralta
Complete on 09/15/2017; 2:45 PM EST

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Dr Faith's 5 minute therapy - Coping Skills


Dr Faith's 5 minute therapy - Coping Skills

by Faith G. Harper, PhD, LPC-S, ACS


10.5cm x 
14cm, 24 pages, cardboard cover.

$3




Because Sometimes Life Is Some Serious Bullshit

We life in a society that is always on, always demanding attention - we're always thinking or doing. And because we rarely get chance to switch off, to be calm, to reflect, our brains and bodies are over-stimulated and over-stressed. 

So how do we turn this situation around? Dr Faith once again steps up with some seriously practical advice on how you can actively regain some calm, some focus, and some energy. In her trademark style - you know - funny, friendly, compassionate, non-judgemental - Dr Faith lays out ten key ways to help you cope with what life throws at you. 

Like others zines in the Five Minute Therapy series, Coping Skills is published by Microcosm in a no-nonsense style. Small enough to fit in your pocket for those moments when you just need a helping hand. 


Buy Dr Faith's 5 Minute Therapy on coping skills direct from Microcosm Publishing
microcosmpublishing.com/catalog/zines/7178

Check out Microcosmpublishing.org for other zines in Dr Faith's series. 


Review by Nathan Penlington

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Twilight World #23 [August 2017]



Don Fields, 266 Ramona Avenue, Grover Beach CA 93433, USA + oddlystupid [at] yahoo [dot] com + donosdump.com + "somewhere at Etsy.com"  Price: $3.00, or 'the usual'; Size: 8.5" x 5.5" Page count: 20 

The quest to find a zine that includes an even vaguely nice or positive thing to say about the 45th President of the USA continues, since in Don-o's intro the second paragraph begins "Then there's the very recent shift in our political direction into Downtown ShitsVille USA." It begs the question - if Trump actually [God forbid] did something right, would anybody admit to it? I gotta say though - that cover by Marc Schirmeister showing Abraham Lincoln busting up an out-of-control argument between Donald and Hillary is so funny, I'm almost inspired to call it "Hillary-ous"!

Anyway, that's cool. I'm not like those anti-Trump crybabies who - and this is just one true actual real-life example - overheard somebody in their store admit to being a Trump voter and promptly demanded they leave.

I love Twilight World! There's even proof in this issue! Don-o reprinted my diary comic strip of Wednesday 4 January 2017 in which I drew myself gladly having checked my mailbox to find a copy of Twilight World #8, the American Splendor issue.

Right after the intro/editorial we get six pages of albums from 2011 to the present day that Don-o still likes. A few pages into this I see that I've underlined "I listen to a lot of rain recordings for relaxation." What a great idea! It's true now that I think of it - the sound of rain is extremely relaxing!

Next up, 'My [Other Parts Of] L.A. Part 1' - five pages of photos Don-o took of "old haunts, streets and alleyways of Redondo Beach and small parts of the South Bay I didn't have room to include in the last TW issue." My favourite, and one that Don-o calls "probably one of the two best pictures I ever taken" is this message on a Torrance Boulevard bus stop bench: "REPORT ALL U.F.O. SIGHTINGS. THANK YOU."

Finally, five pages of 'Reviews o' Stuff' including the book Los Angeles In The 1970s: Weird Scenes Inside the Goldmine edited by David Kukoff [2016; Barnacle Books/Rare Bird Books], immediately followed by a review of another LA book, the MYSTERIOUS 'Watch Channel 38 Every Night Until Jesus Comes: Southern California Photographs' by Ralph Coon. "Mysterious" because the book contains virtually no information like price, or address, and the only text to be found is some "VERY basic information and a quote from a Stan Ridgway song called Stormy Side of Town".

Don-o perhaps saves the best until last since the final three pages contain zine reviews, including one of Mark Strickert's Mark Time #116, which I mention because in another Twilight World I found myself inspired to send one of my zines to Mark in hopes of a trade, but it came back a month later "Return to Sender." I'll try again now, because I'm not the kind of person who can be easily discouraged. And I LOVE a good MYSTERY!

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Local Vocals - your guide to kick-ass karaoke


Local Vocals - your guide to kick-ass karaoke

by Kari Tervo

20 pages, 14cm x 21.5cm 

$3



If you are alive at this point in history, reading this, and you haven't ever been to a karaoke night - I have to ask - what the hell have you been doing with your life?

Karaoke is the most inclusive form of performance there is. If you can't sing - it's for you. If you can sing - it's for you. If you can't dance - it's for you. If you are a natural performer - it's for you. If you have never been in front of an audience before - it's for you. In short, you can be a brilliantly terrible off-key mess and still nail the best performance of the night.  



Local Vocals is a zine designed to help prepare you for karaoke stardom. It takes you step by step through karaoke keystones, how to pick the right song, a field guide to karaoke singers, and the merits of a karaoke bar vs a karaoke booth. There are also notes on the care and feeding of a karaoke audience, how not to be an asshole at karaoke, prepping a kick ass performance, and a series of advanced tips to enhance the entertainment value of your performance. If you're a karaoke regular, novice, or virgin, you'll get something of value from this fun, well observed, practical, and nicely produced zine.


Go and buy and copy, and then go and kick-ass with your karaoke.

Visit Kari's Etsy shop to pick this zine - and many more: etsy.com/listing/547344061/local-vocals-your-guide-to-kick-ass



Review by Nathan Penlington


Saturday, September 9, 2017

Wasted Land 2


Wasted Land 2


by Adam Void

21cm x 27cm, zine fold into 7cm x 10.5cm mini zine. 

$/£: trades encouraged





A mini-zine by prolific artist and zine maker Adam Void, creator of the great Nirvana Rules zine reviewed a few posts back.

Wasted Land 2 is a collage of found images, additional drawing, and handwritten text. It's absurdist in the tradition of dada, and it's DIY culture in the tradition of punk. It's the kind of thing you want to leave in bars and bookshops to be discovered - no wait, it's the kind of thing you want to find in bars and bookshops.

If you want a copy contact Adam at adam_void (at) yahoo (dot) com - trades are encouraged. If you ask nicely he might also send you some other goodies. 

As I said in my review of Nirvana Rules Adam's been making zines since 2003. Check out his past publications page: adamvoid.com/index.php?/ongoing/publications - now THAT is a zine maker.



Review by Nathan Penlington


Friday, September 8, 2017

Dr Faith's 5 minute therapy - Dating



Dr Faith's 5 minute therapy - Dating

by Faith G. Harper, PhD, LPC-S, ACS

14cm x 2.5cm, 12 pages, cardboard cover.

$4



Dating - It's Not Relationshipping (And That's A Good Thing)



We're all been there: single and looking. But in the last few years the revolution in dating apps has made it so much easier to be 'single and not really looking', 'single and in it for the hook ups', or 'single and staying the hell out of it'. Dating has become stressful and emotionally bruising, and that's even before you get to the actual meeting someone face to face. 

This is where Dr Faith steps in to help once again - offering no nonsense, zero bullshit, friendly, funny, and practical advice. Reclaiming dating as a fun activity, but avoiding the traps of being addicted to attention, or annoying the F*@k out of your friends and family, is easy when it's broken down into ten steps of things to consider, remember, or act on. 

I've become a big fan of Dr Faith's zines, I think they succeed in ways self-help books don't. Whether you need a shot of life coaching, or you have a friend that needs a jolt of common-sense therapy, her zines are a cheap way to help deal with a specific area of need. 

So - stop swiping, start reading. 



Buy Dr Faith's 5 Minute Therapy on Dating direct from Microcosm Publishing
microcosmpublishing.com/catalog/zines/7181

Check out Microcosmpublishing.org for other zines in Dr Faith's series. 


Review by Nathan Penlington

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Butt-Rag Mag #13

J-Hash [Editor], contact via the ButtRagMag Facebook group for Price/Trades info; Size: 8.5" x 5.5" Page count: 16 

Wall-to-wall bums and farts and cocks and balls, here's one for the butt/fart fetishists.

This issue - or 'tissue' [it even comes with a couple sheets!] - is the "Bum Luck" 13th and features a buttfull of fartists paying homage to the keister. I don't know how J-Hash does it, but every page has a dirty, sleazy feel that uncannily convinces you that you're perusing this publication while standing in a funky, sticky-carpeted XXX bookstore at three a.m. And the pages seem actually DIRTY dirty - I mean grimy, as though you just found it in the gutter. After flipping through just a few pages I had the strangest urge to wash my hands!

You know, it just occurred to me that GG Allin would have LOVED Butt-Rag Mag!

[Soundtrack - GG Allin - 'Bite It, You Scum']

Someone Stranger #5


Someone Stranger #5 - The Silent Pen Issue

by Zippity Zinedra


14cm x 22cm

$3.50



Someone Stranger is a zine by Zippity Zinedra - "a 45 yr old bald-headed Non-Binary Queer weird-o zinester". 

Issue #5 takes an unusual angle to the self produced, self edited, and self written zine - by hiring a ghostwriter. What makes it particularly unusual is that the ghost writer in question is ghosting themselves. 



The 'ghosting' idea is fun - and allows the fictional pieces to follow tangents, themes, and styles, outside the form of Zippity's usual writing. The stories include encounters with tumbleweed, how to fight a shadow, taking a trip on a flying windmill, and what to do with a personal chef. The zine is illustrated throughout in cut & paste style - the collages also contributing to the humour.

You can buy a copy of Someone Stranger #5 from Etsy - and while you are there pick up another zine or two - so you can check out Zippity's non-ghosted work too! 


etsy.com/shop/ZippityZinedraPress

Review by Nathan Penlington

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Blank Expression - Issue 3


Blank Expression - Issue 3


by Nathan Sands, Jess Bhikha, and team

A5, 16 coloured pages.

£: Free where stocked, donations encouraged




Blank Expression is an alternative music / DIY culture zine representing the scene in and around Coventry (for non-UK readers of SZR: Coventry is the 12th largest city in the UK, located in the Midlands, about 20 miles from Birmingham).

Issue 3 includes gig and EP reviews, a DIY fashion feature on taking inspiration from 70s subcultures and going your own way, and an interview with the mighty Sleaford Mods. Yes, the actual Sleaford Mods! 



Interestingly, not only does Blank Expression exist to shine a light on whats happening right now, it also delves into the zine and music culture of Coventry of years gone by - rightfully being proud of the art produced by the people of the city. An interview with Martin Bowes, who was responsible for the Alternative Sounds zine which began in 1979, raises interesting points about DIY culture - past and present. 

Blank Expression is a nicely produced zine, with full colour illustrations and photographs throughout - many taken by Nathan and Jess. It is clearly written with enthusiasm, and that enthusiasm spills over - in fact it sent me scrambling to bandcamp a few times. If one of the aims of zine is to shine a spotlight on new music, it is certainly doing its job! 

The zine is free where stocked (try the local HMV, Fargo Village, and Blue Banana) - but if you'd like a copy all you have to do is contribute £1 towards stamps, or for £5 you will be sent a mystery bundle that includes a tape and CD. If you're into alternative music you won't be disappointed.

The Blank Expression shop is here: blankexpressionzine.bigcartel.com/products


Or check out the digital editions: blankexpressionzine.wordpress.com




Review by Nathan Penlington




Monday, September 4, 2017

The Heap


The Heap

by William Periwinkle / Readers Digress! #17

A5, 16 pages, cardboard cover

£/$: exchange encouraged, and/or stamps to cover postage. 




The Heap embodies the spirit of Albee and Ionesco - not only is it written in short play form, it wouldn't be out of place on the stage alongside much of their work.

At the centre of the inaction is a compost heap, which is is blocking the only road to the train station. What follows is a dialogue between self-entitled businessman Pickering and Binky, the builder of the heap. But what is that sound coming from inside the compost? Is it really music? 


This is yet another surprising work from Readers Digress!/Bubblegum Dada - which always manage to uphold their tradition of wearing influences proudly while creating something new. 




Readers Digress! is the former incarnation of The Bubblegum Dada Corporation - a curiously offline enterprise based on the coast of England.

If you'd like a copy of 
The Heap you can now contact them at their newly acquired email address - bubblegumdadacorporation (at) gmail (dot) com - with offers to exchange creative endeavours, or an offer of stamps to cover postage.

Please say we sent you. 


Review by Nathan Penlington

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Node Pajomo 2.2




PJM, Contact: Post Office Box 2632, Bellingham WA 98227-2632, USA; Size: 8.5" x 5.5" Page count: 24

I'm not sure how many issues of Node Pajomo I've missed since the last one I received back in March 2013, so suffice it to say how glad I am that it's still going.

NP is an essential zine resource since not only does it feature zine reviews, but reviews of independently-released musical projects [genres like experimental, noise, ambient, folk, metal, etc] and even 'ephemera' that other zine review zines would not touch, since they could not be defined as 'zines' - what I mean here is, for example, single-page 'newsletters' like those Truman Bentley Jr. made [I wonder if Truman is still creating these? Truman! Wake up grab a brush and put on a little make-up! and please resume communication! I must know >>> How are your Self-Improvement lessons going?]

Node Pajomo also includes Mail Art Listings. It's good to know there are still people doing these through the post, because as PJM observes: "This used to be the core of the zine but the tantalizing glow of digital social media has changed the way that the majority of mail artists interact with each other..."

Finally I'll note PJM's appealing writing style, which is fresh and incisive, and perhaps best of all, is his readiness to challenge a zinester [see scanned page above] - quite rare in zinedom these days. Why does it seem impossible in 2017 to find a zine reviewer who is not terrified of saying something even remotely negative? Too nice. Too boring.

Friday, September 1, 2017

Unbridled Enthusiasm - Vol 1, No 3


Unbridled Enthusiasm - Vol 1, No 3. Summer 2017. 


by Matt Gholson


14cm x 21.5cm, 28 b&w pages.

Single issues $3 or trades



Unbridled Enthusiasm is a really engaging perzine - it draws you effortlessly into someone else's town, interests, and relationships. Like many of the best zines, Matt is someone who is making a zine simply because he wants to make a zine, and draws upon his life to fill it.



I loved the interview with Matt's wife about her passion for Post Crossing - the postcard sending website; 
the Mysterious Battery and the Spoon Thief are like the best stories in a local newspaper from a place isn't your own town; Stories From My Dentist might encourage you to get your teeth checked more regularly, if only for the storytelling; Matt's honesty about swimming and his interest in inkjet printers is both sweet and endearing; and the photography project that revisits the same small town locations, with a better camera, 13 years later is right up my street (it reminds me of some of the projects the French writer George Perec carried out). 

If you have an interest in the technical aspects of photography there is something extra here for you too - both in the discussion about using film in 2017, and the details of the cameras used for the photos that fill the zine. Unbridled Enthusiasm is nicely put together, and the b&w photos really pop out of the page. I look forward to reading future issues.

Contact Matt mattgholson (at) gmail [dot] com to buy a copy or to arrange a trade. Matt runs a great website that catalogues zine trades he's made - it's that spirit in the zine world that I'm utterly a fan of. 

Check out photozinetrader.com for more info. 


Review by Nathan Penlington



Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Dr Faith's 5 minute therapy - Anger


Dr Faith's 5 minute therapy - Anger

by Faith G. Harper, PhD, LPC-S, ACS

14cm x 2.5cm, 28 pages, cardboard cover.

$4




This is your brain on ANGER - what it is, how to deal 


We're living in a society that is getting angrier. A few minutes on Twitter, or the comments section of YouTube will prove that. But away from social media anger is a destructive emotion that can seriously harm your health, your sleep, and your relationships, if you let it rule your life. 

In order to tackle a big topic this is a more in-depth zine than some of the other zines in Dr Faith's series. The reader is guided through the neuroscience of anger, helping you get to grips with what is actually going on in your brain is fundamental to helping you retrain your responses. In essence this zine with help you to "let anger work for you, not against you", taking you step by step through strategies to analyse your anger, and discover just what are underlying causes to your feelings. 

What makes Dr Faith's Five Minute Therapy series so great is that each zine is succinct, friendly, low on bullshit, and high on helping you really get to grips with your problem. This issue is no exception. 

If anger is an issue you recognise in the mirror, you owe it to yourself to put your brain in a better frame of mind before you cause serious harm to yourself or others. And if you know someone with anger issues, giving them this zine might be the first step to working towards a healthier outlook. 




Buy Dr Faith's 5 Minute Therapy on ANGER direct from Microcosm Publishing
microcosmpublishing.com/catalog/zines/3794

Check out Microcosmpublishing.org for other zines in Dr Faith's series. 


Review by Nathan Penlington

Monday, August 28, 2017

Munster Times 21 [July 2017]




Matt Ryan, Contact: Munster_mag [at] hotmail [dot] com for ordering info and check out the Munster Times Facebook page Size: 11.75" x 8.25" Page count: 36 

In Matt's 'Letter from the Editor' he notes the passing of Ms Izzy Cox, and describes her music this way: "It's the kind of music I could imagine being played on a jukebox in a smoke-filled pub in 1950s Texas while a bunch of characters straight out of a Raymond Chandler novel (where everyone is tough and hard and funny but not in a haha way) play pool and eye one another off." Then on a less sad note, rather one of derision, Matt writes that Mia Freeman made a dick of herself again. I had to Google Mia Freeman - she is the founder of Australian women's website Mamamia. But what she made a dick of herself about this time around is not revealed...

Anyway, loads of great stuff in this issue - interviews with Blag from The Dwarves; Dave Graney, and here's a great quote from that one: "...I do a show on RRR and I hear a lot of contemporary music, and I see a lot of new albums that come in and I'm amazed when I get acts that say it's their first album in seven years. And I'm like Wow, what is the point? You know, you are not that good to be taking that much of a break, that is the entire career of Jimmy Hendrix, or 2Pac. Get over it. Do something. If you're a muso you should record and play gigs. Taking seven years off is stupid."

Then three more interviews - Mick Batty of Melbourne record label Off The Hip; Melbourne two-piece garage band Cakefight; and comedian Greg Fleet. Part of the fun, of course, is finding out at the end when Matt asks them [and "them" meaning every single person or band he interviews] "What is your favourite The Fall album?" have they heard of The Fall? If so, have they heard any of their albums? If so, did they like it enough to listen to another one? And so on... Great stuff!

There's also a review of Dinosaur Jr at The Croxton on Friday 20 January 2017.

Flies on the wall



Flies on the wall


by Zeppelinmoon

A5 - 40 pages, b&w and colour, perfect bound. 

£2.50 plus postage




This debut zine by zeppelinmoon consists of a series of comic exchanges between flies observing the emotionally tragic lives of the human family whose walls they rest on. A couple of appearances by sloths, dogs, and seals aside, the flies on the wall operate as a minimalist comic in which each page works as an individual panel - but also helps build an implied larger narrative. 



Flies on the wall is a well produced zine in full colour - the pages that aren't flies on a white wall, obvs. It's smart, it's slick, it's crude, it's funny, and there is swearing. What's not to like? 

Check out  Zeppelinmoon on instagram for a look at current artwork, and then head over to Etsy to buy a copy.  

etsy.com/uk/listing/531688936/flies-on-the-wall-a-comic-cartoon-zine

For more artwork, and Zepplinmoon's shop full of original t-shirts, totes, pins, cards and more, visit: 
Zeppelinmoon.com


Review by Nathan Penlington



Sunday, August 27, 2017

Hiroshima Yeah! #148 [June 2017]


Mark Ritchie, Contact: donbirnam [at] hotmail [dot] com Price/Trades? Send a nice email and ask!; Size: 11.75" x 8.25" Page count: 4

If you have never read a copy of HY!, I could write a big paragraph trying to convince you how great it is, and once again declare that it's one of my TOP FIVE FAVOURITE ZINES, but reading the first very short poem on page one of the latest issue would take much less time to answer the question: "Would I like this zine, or newsletter, or whatever it is, or not?"

GIFT
Nothing says
"Happy Birthday,
You Total Fuck-Up"
like three self-help books
and information about
counselling sessions
stuffed into a gift bag.
But thanks anyway, cuz.

If this poem makes you laugh, or even smile, the answer is YES, you would like Hiroshima Yeah! and you should email Mark today and tell him, "I have Stratu to thank..."

Also in this issue - Part Two of Gary Simmons's completed Probation Office form in which Gary had to write about his predictions/assessment of his health, lifestyle, relationships, personal development, leisure, and housing.

Mark reviews albums by Magnolia Electric Co, The Mountain Goats, Jesu/Sun Kil Moon [this rap trip Mark Kozelek has embarked on sounds SICK and DISTURBING], Milovan Srdenovic, Dinosaur Jr, Rocket From The Tombs, Dirty Three, Songs Ohia [thanks for the tip! 'Almost Was Good Enough is one of my new favourite songs], Animals That Swim, Teenage Fanclub, Richard Skelton, and Silkworm.

These DVDS are also reviewed: Salad Days: A Decade of Punk In Washington DC (1980-90), Drive, The Wicker Tree, and Better Call Saul: Season Two.

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Dynamiting Misery!


Dynamiting Misery!
by Avery Cruikshank and Pollard Laine / Readers Digress! #13

A5, 28 pages, cardboard cover. 

£/$: exchange encouraged, and/or stamps to cover postage. 



Dynamiting Misery! is a layered narrative of scholarly faction. It is centred around the world of early animation, the rise of Disney and the company's links to fascism, and the support lent to the witch hunts of McCarthy era America. 

The zine consists of a fictual dialogue between legendary animator Pollard Laine and celebrated critic Avery Cruikshank, which analyses Pollard's career choices and his desire to undermine the dominant rhetoric of capitalist cultural production. If that sounds a bit heavy, it isn't. The writing is erudite, witty, believable and well researched. The simple format of the zine lets the strength of the writing breathe. 

Readers Digress! is the former incarnation of The Bubblegum Dada Corporation - a curiously offline enterprise based on the coast of England. If you'd like a copy of 
Dynamiting Misery! you can now contact them at their newly acquired email address - bubblegumdadacorporation (at) gmail (dot) com - with offers to exchange creative endeavours, or an offer of stamps to cover postage. Please say we sent you. 


Review by Nathan Penlington

Friday, August 25, 2017

The Ken Chronicles #43 [May 2017]


Ken Bausert, PassScribe [at] aol.com + thekenbausertchronicles.blogspot.com  Price: $3.00, fair trade or letter of comment; Size: 8.5" x 5.5" Page count: 28

First of all - Ken, why is it that the most recent post on your blog is from 2014? Do you have another online presence? If so, I think it would be better to include that up there.

Now on with the show. The Ken Bausert's Chronicles Show!

In this issue: One of my new favourite [Top Five!] letter columns [see sample above, shout out to fellow Friend of the Animals, Gunther!] - ; People, Places and Things That Aren't There Anymore, which this time around includes the Elmhurst Gas Tanks, the RKO Keith's, and high school crush Betty Ann J.; reviews of what Ken's been watching and reading lately, including a very funny anecdote about Joe Biel. Ken was writing an article for zine review zine Xerography Debt and put out the word that he wanted to hear from people who had sizeable zine collections. One respondent was Joe, who admitted taht at one time he had 50,000 zines, but had to cull his collection before going off to live in a treehouse. Ken remarked that this sounded intriguing, so Joe said it was all part of his autobiography he had just written, so Ken put it on his want list. To Ken's dismay, when his daughter later gave him this book for Christmas, he found that it was an "extremely detailed story of Joe's life...", and "tiring and depressing", yet there was nothing to be found about "the treehouse he reportedly built and lived in for a time." Haw! [Update - Joe Biel himself replied to this >>> "The section about living in the tree house runs from pages 147-200." To which I can only ask Ken - How the hell did you miss it?!]

There is also Ken's account of his and his wife Ro's winter in Florida. Amusingly, among the photos to illustrate this period is one he snapped of a car groaning under a heavy blanket of snow - six inches had fallen in New York just before they departed for Florida.

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Nirvana Rules


Nirvana Rules

by Adam Void


11cm x 14cm, 14 pages, coloured paper, hand printed card cover.

$/£: trades encouraged




We all know that Kurt Cobain ruled right, but who or what is Nirvana Rules? Adam Void sets out to solve the mystery of a series of graffiti tags that started to appear around Baltimore. Is it just a reference to the band? But where are the references to the band artwork or songs? And why did it only start appearing in 2010?  



Nirvana Rules is a great zine - part documentary of a DIY subculture, part mystery, part interview, and a DIY artefact itself. It's got a perfect old school feel to it with the use of a typewriter, handwriting, and stencil. And it's got an extra Nirvana fold out in the centre too.

If you want a copy contact Adam at adam_void (at) yahoo (dot) com - trades are encouraged. 


Adam's been making zines since 2003. If you want to make yourself drool and/or make yourself feel envious check out his past publications page: adamvoid.com/index.php?/ongoing/publications - now THAT is a zine maker.



Review by Nathan Penlington


  





Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Astrobabble: The Zine For Astrology Nerds #12 [2015]




Astrogirlzarro, m_zarro [at] hotmail [dot] com + astrobabylon.blogspot.com  Price: $3.00 Trades? Yes; Size: 8.25" x 5.75" Page count: 16

Astrobabble is a marriage of Astrogirlzarro's interests in astrology and pop culture, and she announces in her 'Editor's Notes' that this issue "focuses on the expansive and jovial sign of Sagittarius"; Keith Richards has his natal chart exposed; and the current Saturn-Sagittarius cycle is looked at in relation to the ancient Greek myth of Icarus. We also observe Frank Zappa sitting on the crapper as Exhibit A in 'How to Spot a Sagittarian'.

It occurs to me that it doesn't matter if you're not into astrology even a little bit. You will LOVE this issue if you're a Rolling Stones fan, since Astrogirlzarro read Keith's six hundred page autobiography, Life, as part of her research [yes! only part! - there's a whole page of 'Notes and Sources' listed at the back, like Chris Mikul does with Bizarrism]. I'm also sure that if YOU or a close friend or family member is a Sagittarian, this issue would be a fun read to find out which of the noted personality/character quirks match up or not.

Great stuff!

I should add that for Bowie fans, there is also a Bowie-focused issue that came out just after the Duke's untimely death.

Search This Blog