..

Friday, April 29, 2016

Minor Leagues #1

Minor Leagues #1 – Simon Moreton

published by lydstep lettuce -  April 2016

A5, 100 pages, cardboard covers.

£4



I don't buy into the myth of refinement, but with age I'm certainly more sure of what my tastes are. In all things I like honesty of emotion; I like humour that has truth as a foundation; I like originality of vision; I like the beauty of the ordinary. Minor Leagues #1 has all of this, so I'm very happy it found my letterbox. 

These are short stories of heartbreaking honesty that will make you laugh, that walk the line between visual and textual, exploring moments we feel could be profound if they could be wrestled away from their everydayness. We have all experienced those moments that if only... if... arrh... oh... gone.

I love the sparseness and the specifics, the humour in the writing and the poetry in the line. The graphic sections are definitely sequential art rather than comic book narrative, full of movement and suggestion, the style helping to feed the mood of the text pieces. 



Although the main themes are death and loss, the result is a zine that is not afraid of being emotional but that never takes itself too seriously. It is a really lovely, lovingly put together thing.  I don't want to say more than that - buy it, read it, experience it for yourself. I know you'll want to share it, so maybe buy two. 


Buy issue 1 of Minor Leagues here: moo.bigcartel.com/product/minor-leagues-1

Or visit smoo.bigcartel.com for subscription options. 



Review by Nathan Penlington

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Chauncey #14


Chauncey # 14 by Josh Sullivan

$3

20 pages, A5 (ish). 


This was another find during my recent brief trip around the lower half of Florida. This zine was picked up in St Petes, a town with a surprisingly friendly mix of cool bars and laid back vintage stores. If I'd had more time I would have definitely investigated for longer. Luckily, even though time was tight, I discovered an actual bricks and mortar record store called Daddy Kool Records - that good kind of music shop, independent, diverse, and in it for the music. Also, the rare kind of music shop that makes room on its shelves for a small selection of zines. 

The zines were all US made, but one was particularly local - made and created in town. I couldn't not buy a copy.


Chauncey is a an odd looking thing half dog - half pig, with little bird-like feet, who hates his 'dumb ass job', who likes drinking, and detests idiots and bureaucracy. 

Chauncey #14 catalogues his exploits while renewing his driving license, taking his lunch break, and facing the mandatory work meeting. I'll say this, he is an unlucky lucky creature, but he is not afraid to say the things we all have thought at times - "Where did all these idiots come from?". 



If you like your comics rough around the edges and straight from the pen you'll love this. 

I can't find an online link - but if you email Josh through his website I'm sure he can help sort you out. 



Review by Nathan Penlington



Saturday, April 23, 2016

Dirty Bind - Miami



Dirty Bind @ SWGR Gallery
2235 NW 2nd Ave
Miami, FL 33127

During my recent visit to Miami, in addition to the pop-up Exile zine shop at History Miami, another happy accidental discovery was Dirty Bind – a curation of zines from over 50 artists – exhibited and sold at SWGR Gallery.

SWGR is just over the road from Wynwood Walls - the uber-‘street’ gallery of graffiti art, some of which is stunning and worth braving the selfie fixated tourists to explore. The zines on offer are mainly graphic design, illustration, fashion and photography inspired, but there are also a few more word focussed publications too. Nestle in the reading chair for an afternoon of quiet page turning.

from SWGR Gallery



So, if you find yourself in Miami, head over – please let them know Syndicated Zine Reviews sent you!

Review by Nathan Penlington

Friday, April 22, 2016

Quitter / Ten


Quitter / Ten
52 pages, mini
$6 + postage

I really loved this. I was pretty sure I'd read an earlier issue, but when looked it up I couldn't find anything. As I was eking out words that might adequately praise this work, I got distracted looking over a book of excerpts from previous issues that had come in the same package. On the back cover were the requisite blurbs. One struck me as being precisely what I would say. Then I realized I had written it for a review in an issue of Zine World.

"The subject matter is intimate and stark. With precision wordsmithing, Trace ventures into parts of the emotional landscape we normally avoid, and engages us by tapping the common well of humanity with an unflinching examination of his personal experience. Inspirational."

All of the above still holds true, though this issue is perhaps a little less stark. Lovely art inserted in unexpected places. Some of the typeface is art as well. It goes forward and backward in time to draw together bits of the writer's life and weave them into an unlikely something. The center point being a house that isn't there anymore. A memory of a house that is a depository for family nestolgia. A house that is now just part of a corn field.

The continual and eventual wiping away of the past is juxtaposed against the unfolding the now in the form of his wife and baby girls. Thoughts of mortality are the middle ground between his past and future. Stories of birds told to his older girl are the common thread that stitch it all together.

I suspect I would be enthralled by anything this guy wrote.


Order
http://pioneerspress.com/products/quitter-10

Contact
Trace Ramsey, 213 N Briggs Ave, Durham NC 27703
traceramsery@gmail.com



review by Jack Cheiky
This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Friday, April 8, 2016

Lil' Buddies Magazine - Issue 2





Lil' Buddies Magazine - Issue 2

Edie Fake

11cm x 14cm, 36 pages, cardboard covers. B&W with some colour illustrations. 

$5








This is a great little zine, in the same ballpark as Crap Hound, but with an even narrower subject focus - the often overlooked realm of the anthropomorphic objects used in advertising. 

Issue 2 is devoted entirely to teeth - creepy, smiling, mocking, cutsey, the badly drawn, and the over thought. From teeth in neon, through ones straddling car roofs, to those with a human inside - they are all here. 

Buy a copy from Exile Books. I picked my copy up during a recent trip through Miami from the Exile Books pop-up at History Miami.

Review by Nathan Penlington


Thursday, April 7, 2016

Longview




Longview - the survival guide

Maria Forde

14cm x 10.5 cm, 32 pages, plus cardboard cover

$6

One of my favourite zines of all time is Duplex Planet. Longview shares much beyond the same subject matter, it has a similar warmth and humour which makes it such a joy to read.

The zine takes its name from the nursing home in which the author's grandmother lives, and also from an approach to life - taking the long view - which is the subtext running through the advice given by fellow nursing home residents. 



Each resident has been illustrated by Maria in pencil and ink sketches. Between the sometimes self-conscious poses and outfit choices of the subjects, she has captured an endearing quality in all of them. 

Most of all the advice is poignant, funny and could just help you in keep focused on the right perspective. 



You can buy a copy of Longview here. I picked mine up during a recent trip through Miami from the Exile Books pop-up at History Miami.

Review by Nathan Penlington






Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Miami Zine Fair - April 30th



I'm currently travelling around Florida on a research trip. My zine radar must be working to the peak of its ability as I was drawn towards History Miami where, unknown to me, Exile Books have a pop-up shop. 

Located in the foyer of the museum the shop stocks a large range of art, poetry, and graphic zines from around the US. The zine shop will be in the same location until the end of May, before it moves on. The museum is also running zine making workshops and have printing facilities on site. Check out History Miami for more information

On April 30th a full zine fair featuring local artists, writers and makers runs from 11am - 5pm. There is still chance to submit for a table. Full fair details here.

Visit exilebooks.com for their full range of publications and information. 

Of course I've managed to squeeze a couple of zines into my luggage, reviews will follow soon. 



Review by Nathan Penlington


Everything is Fine #1


Everything is Fine #1
36 pages, digest
$3.50 U.S. delivered
$5.00 International

Old school, cut & paste perzine with graphics on every page. Cover is delightfully creepy.

Nyxia Grey fights back against abuse and anorexia with scissors, glue, an old typewriter, a word possessor, and a ton of manic energy, purging herself of thoughts and feelings that have dominated her life. "i will cut it out of me and leave it here word by word by word until i am whole again."

In parts where she is using the typewriter she leaves in the typos and runtogetherwords and strikes a certain rhythm that becomes poetic the longer your read it.

She is recovering, so there is power and hope in her writing. Starkly honest, she puts it all out there, holding little back. Intimate descriptions of family conflicts, and the decisions she made about the world and herself that shaped her outlook.

At the same time that she's reaching deep inside herself, she's also reaching out to others who have been through, and who are going through, some of the same stuff. "I will write back. You are not alone."

See gives a very readable voice to a difficult topic. Kudos.


Order
https://www.etsy.com/listing/211428291/everything-is-fine-volume-1-issue-1?ref=shop_home_feat_1

Contact
everythingisfinezine (a) gmail.com



review by Jack Cheiky
This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Friday, April 1, 2016

The Ken Chronicles #38 [February 2016]




28 pages, 8.5" x 5.5", $3.00, fair trade or letter of comment, Ken Bausert, 2140 Erma Dr, East Meadow NY 11554, USA + PassScribe [at] aol.com + thekenbausertchronicles.blogspot.com

One of the greatest things about zines - or at least those few that actually have them - is the letter column.

Exhibit A: Fred Woodworth's The Match! and the bags of letters printed in each issue.

Exhibit B: Ken Bausert's The Ken Chronicles. This issue has four pages of letters, and one of them is from Don Fields [who produces his own zine, Twilight World], who writes a great letter. The main subject of his letter is about him noticing another letter-writer [and zine maker], Rodney L. complaining about the lack of letters he receives for each issue. Don goes on to explain why he isn't too worried about letters, and mentions a couple of other things, which led me to write Don a letter. Now I hope he writes me a letter.

After Ken's letter column is a 'Travelogue' of where Ken and his wife Ro went during August, September and October [not the least of which was a visit to Wo Hop for some Chow Fun!].

Next up, everybody's favourite [or second favourite, if it's not the letter column...] section - 'What I've Been ______ Lately'. This time Ken and Ro saw an off-off-Broadway production of semi-semi-famous zine person Ayun Halliday [The East Village Inky]. He also saw Joe Walsh at the Civic Center, and read The Electric Acid Kool-Aid Test. It was strange to read Ken's experience of it, remembering my own reading of it many years ago, and how it opened a new universe for me. A universe I had previously been unaware of!

Finally, Ken reprints an Associated Press release about the death of Holly Woodlawn, the transgender actress made famous by Andy Warhol and Paul Morrissey in their 1970 films 'Trash' and 'Women in Revolt'. Ken's note at the end, where he mentions that he read Holly's biography a few years ago, and found it "very interesting" yet "kind of boring" appears to defy the laws of Aesthetic Physics.


review by Stuart / Blackgaurd

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Megaskank Mansion : Megacon



36 pages, 8.5" x 6", by Curt Sibling, Biesuiss, Relhok, Wicked-at-Heart, and Corelle Vairel --- No contact info whatsoever [fuck you]

for ordering info try contacting >>> kurtzibling at yahoo dot co dot uk

"When super-spoiled zombie queen Foxxxy decides to host a huge comic convention at her Megaskank Mansion, every troll, brony and freak in town soon attends! Chaos erupts as Feminazis try to close down the event. Can the fandoms unite for once to save Megacon?"

Here at long last is the second issue of MM [I reviewed the first here] - and the wait has certainly been worth it.

Sure, one can enjoy the skilfully-executed drawings of "kickass cosplay queens ... dropping more sex bombs than ISIS", and I do love those, but what I love most about this series are the many references which I don't get, but since it's a word I've never come across, of course I must immediately look it up. [Example: the first issue's 'Weeaboo' - see review]

With this issue, it was a name. Tom Preston. Who the hell is Tom Preston? I didn't know, but I sure as shit had to find out right away! And then finding out who Tom Preston was led to my learning about the phenomenon of 'inflation artwork' - a fetish in which characters are artificially pumped full of air so that they expand.

Tom Preston

My only gripe is the complete absence of contact info. For a printed comic, that doesn't make any sense. How do I let people know how to get their own copy? There's not even a friggin' email address in here! There's nothing! No postal address, no email address, no URL... even that Art Zine I received the other day had a Tumblr address. Well, maybe you're supposed to Google it. But that's bullshit! If you make a printed work, put a goddamn physical address in there so people who live in the hard copy world and not the fucking e-cloud can enjoy your creation, too. Cuuuntz!!


review by Stuart / Blackguard

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Strenuous Stilts Art Zine issue one




16 pages, 5.5" x 8", by David Sait, 43 Grange Drive, Brampton, ON, L6X 2H1, CANADA + strenuousstilts.tumblr.com

It's always a real pleasure to receive something unexpected in the mail. Like this Canadian art zine! Every page is printed in full glorious colour. What a treat for these eyeballs! And yours, if you go ahead and write to David. Trade your own art zine with him. I'm sure he'll be up for it. There's collage art in here, along with line drawings that seem to be coloured using a computer application. They are very nice, especially the centrefold of the icy river scene with forest and mountains and twilight horizon. At work today I went across the road and stood in the park, lit a cigarette and looked at this. I looked and looked, and really was drawn into it all. It took me far from my workday.


Review by Stuart / Blackguard

also reviewed by Jack & Laura-Marie
http://syndicatedzinereviews.blogspot.com/2016/03/strenuous-stilts-1_22.html
http://syndicatedzinereviews.blogspot.com/2016/03/strenuous-stilts-review-by-laura-marie.html

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Exscind #1


Exscind #1
36 pages, digest
Limited edition of 100
High quality, slick pages, heavy stock cover
$6 delivered, ($4 media mail)

Adel Souto puts together here a compilation of his work, writing and art, from various eras of his life. Some is previously published, much of it not.

First off, this print version is one of those few that get filed under,  "best value zine publication you'll find anywhere, ever." The only thing I didn't care for about the production was the unattached clear acetate sleeve over the regular cover, (acetate has title in black, card stock has colorful art.) Keeping it all together quickly became a pain in the ass and I discarded it.

The art, primarily photography, ranges from good to great.

The writing is nothing less that polished and professional. How much I liked it varied. The poetry goes in one eye and out the other. There is some whimsical commentary that I find a little trite, (especially when you consider the overall caliber of this writer,) and can only think of as "filler."

However, the bulk of the prose is exceptional. The very best is when Adel writes about himself and his life. There are also bits he does that aren't autobiographical but are written with an almost academic focus. He is intelligent and well read, especially in history.

What ties this all together in a bow is that he's a complex individual with a dark side and plenty of questionable history. Piecing together his intellect, knowledge , criminality, homelessness, and superimposing it over the high quality art he is presenting is fascinating and compelling.

In his attempt to present a cross section of his work he completely succeeds. This is someone to keep an eye on.

Contact to order
adelsouto@adelsouto.com
www.adelsouto.com


review by Jack Cheiky
This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Friday, March 25, 2016

Non Monogamy 101 - a primer for questioning compulsory monogamy


Non Monogamy 101
40 pages, 1/2 digest
$5 + postage

Adelaide Barton puts out a series of zines with individual titles, as opposed to consecutive issues of the same title. From what I can tell, they are all of similar style and quality, both of which are nice. Hand written and hand drawn.



Non Monogamy is just what it says: an introduction to the topic for those who may not have given it much thought, and perspectives to think about for those who have already formed opinions on the matter.

It starts off by listing numerous forms of non monogamy, both in our times and historically, along with a list of famous people who have practiced one form or another, (you could add Margaret Sanger to the list.) All points are exemplified with quotes of numerous people living various non monogamous lives. Barton does this as she works though subtopics like communication and jealousy, then she ties it all up with a further reading list and an extensive glossary.

The tone is friendly, affirming, and non-accusatory. There's a thin fuzzy line between bringing awareness and legitimacy to a thing, and actively advocating for it, and she stays for the most part in the realm of acceptance of everyone, monogamous or not, as much as anyone objectively could.

Extra points for the Dan Savage quotes.

Order
https://www.etsy.com/listing/270683805/non-monogamy-101-a-primer-for?ref=shop_home_active_1

Contact
ladygardens00 at gmail
that's
ladygardens(zero zero) at gmail

review by Jack Cheiky
This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Bio Auto Graphic - scar issue (issue one )



Bio Auto Graphic - scar issue (issue one ) 
Michael C Nicholson / ensixteen editions, 2005. 

A5, 12 pages, including flesh coloured cardboard cover.

£4


First impressions count, but they are as much about what the viewer brings to the encounter as the viewed, we also bring the almost invisible - scars: 


"out of context they're abstract...morbidly compelling notes of experience on our very skin".



I have a few scars - some from unexceptional knocks and cuts, others from one-sided fights with fists and pavements. One runs almost vertically from just under my nose to the the top of my lip. It is an almost invisible small white line, but the scar refuses to grow hair. That permanent absence means I have never grown facial hair, as that ordinarily invisible line leaves a hugely visible gouge in any attempted moustache.

Bio Auto Graphic traces a similar path through permanent scars of experience of friends, acquaintances and ex-lovers. A history of marks left on the zine's author, a set of mini-narratives that are unafraid to lay bare moments that are by turns moving and funny. This is a celebration of the marks that make us human.  


Although this issue was made in 2005, copies are still available via the Ensixteen blog - check out the more current issues while you are there. ensixteeneditions.blogspot.com

Or email Michael directly to order: ladnicholson(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

Previous issues of Bio Auto Graphic are reviewed here

Review by Nathan Penlington



Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Strenuous Stilts #1


Strenuous Stilts #1
16 pages, digest
$10 + postage

An art zine of drawing, collage, and (I believe) computer art and mixed media, all by Canadian, David Sait. I like it. Parts of it I love. Nice array of imagery. Neat, slick production. I'm on the fence about the price, but I could be behind the times. How much are quality color copies these days?



Issues 1 & 2 are out

Order
https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/StrenuousStiltsZine


review by Jack Cheiky
This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Laura-Marie reviewed it recently too:
http://syndicatedzinereviews.blogspot.com/2016/03/strenuous-stilts-review-by-laura-marie.html

Bio Auto Graphic - edition twenty eight.

Bio Auto Graphic #28: 'B'
Michael C. Nicholson / ensixteen editions


March 2016. 
A5, 20 pages, including cardboard cover. 
£4

The latest edition of bio auto graphic once again explores the space and line between the poetics of the everyday and the graphic form.

'Beyond the endless background cascade of questions I ask myself, what's the first one the world asks me?
Password?'



Begins the mediation on 'B', a reflection on being, the shifting angles of memory reformed by a stick in the sand, and by ink on paper. This is a zine that keeps surprising and inspiring, - jump into the series with this latest issue or wade out into the back issues. You won't regret it.

To get your copy visit the Ensixteen blog: ensixteeneditions.blogspot.com

Or email Michael directly: ladnicholson(at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

(Along with this issue Michael also sent me issues zero and one. Both are still available, so reviews will follow. Reviews of other editions here)

Review by Nathan Penlington

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Schneller




Schneller
Lewis Holt

21 x 29cm
128 pages, full colour
Hand assembled and bound

£15


Sometimes with a zine that explores an area outside of your personal experience it can be hard to find a way in, not so with Schneller. To make it even easier the handwritten note that Lewis included with the zine expresses the aesthetic and ethos better than I ever could:

"DIY tattoos made from pen ink and sewing machine needles, DIY skateparks made with blood sweat and beers, drinking travelling, and doing whatever you can or need to enjoy this beautiful art form".


The zine is an almost entirely visual document of a journey spanning the UK, Amsterdam, Germany and Prague. The images have a Vice magazine feel to them, but have a genuine immediacy that results from using 35mm film - a no going back, one shot, if it fails, don't worry just try again ethos. In that way the medium truly reflects the subject. Schneller is a true celebration of DIY culture, and a document of a youth culture that transcends boundaries. 

"Where you come from, what language you speak, your colour, culture, your beliefs; all that is dissolved by the sense of camaraderie you have with each other...You know on one level that it's utterly pointless, but on another, when you get something you have been trying for ages, it can have meaning beyond words".  

And that is reason enough to revel in this heartfelt work.

You can buy a copy via Etsy: etsy.com/uk/listing/267659744/schneller-photobook


Review by Nathan Penlington

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Ex Libris



Ex Libris - a collection of unusual historical deaths. 
Alex Brady. 

A5, 28 pages, colour and B&W illustrations.

£4






This is outside of my usual reviewing procedure - I was given this as a present by someone who knows of my love for zines, stories of unusual deaths, and books. Ex Libris, perfectly, and uncannily, combines all three in its "Series of linocut prints inspired by memento mori bookplates that foretell 13 unusual and untimely deaths".

The subjects are varied, historically diverse, and always tragically funny. They include the execution of the Duke of Clarence in a barrel of wine, the Chinese poet who died trying to kiss the reflection of the moon, and the burgomaster who died by tripping over his own beard. 

Ex Libris is witty, smart and well produced - the perfect gift for friends, lovers and potential enemies.


You can buy Ex Libris from Alex via Etsy: etsy.com/uk/listing/164603784/ex-libris-bookplate-zine


Review by Nathan Penlington



Friday, March 18, 2016

Wise Blood #64


Wise Blood #64
20 pages, digest
Accepts trades, PCP, records, cigarettes, switchblades, etc.
(I say send him at least $1.50 to cover the postage.)


I really liked this one. First, the envelope was a collage. I opened it as I was standing in line to get  coffee. I looked up at the wait person, and looked at the envelop again, and then back at her. She was the spitting image of the collage woman on the envelope, (it was from a famous painting, and I should know who the artist was, but I don't.) Freaky.


Inside was a note written on an artsy postcard. The handwriting was almost illegible. It said the reason for the collage was that he was in a hospital bed due to depression and a nice lady came into to do art therapy with him and he didn't have the heart to tell her no, even though he thinks artists are a bunch of nimrods.



Inside the zine, I was happy to see everything was type written. There were illustrations and it all looked pretty spiffy. The writing was a collection of personal stories, some were directly about mental illness and addiction, and in others the illnesses ran in the background of what could be stories from anyone's life. Very easy to read and very easy to relate to.

He loathes political correctness, refers to women as broads, and is working through some other racial issues. The narrator is anything but one dimensional.

When it was all said and done I thought this guy was pretty close to being a genius. The writing had "flaws" in it, but there were like Stephen King kind of flaws, inserted into what was otherwise outstanding writing. I also noticed that this guy was pretty prolific, with like a hundred issues of this zine and others out there, and from what I saw in this one, they'd be pretty well organized and produced too.

It was very hard to tell whether this dude is just a talented guy with more than his share of problems and a few grammar issues, or if he's just an outstanding writer doing pure fiction and pulling our leg. Probably the former, but In either case it's darn good, and the fact that I can't quite tell for sure one way or the other makes it positively delightful.

Fishspit
1304 175th PL.  NE,
Bellevue WA 98008


review by Jack Cheiky
This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Friday, March 11, 2016

Unknown Voyage


Unknown Voyage
34 pages, digest
full color high quality matte coated paper
$10.00 + postage

Curated by Orion Frantz out of Tucson, and featuring 17 artists in full two-page spreads. The art is diverse. If there is a common thread I'd say it all is somewhat gritty, though my favorite piece by Christine Riebock, (who also does the cover,) is quite lovely; but even that looks like it could be tattoo art.



Limited edition of 50 copies. Great value for the right audience.

Order on LOOSEBONES Web Store
http://www.storenvy.com/stores/44502-loosebones
http://loosebones.com/collections/1023375-zines/products/15588054-unknown-voyage

Artists:
Yu Yu Shiratori
Raquel Craney
Kristian Livas
John Jr.
Brian Arnold
Jake Lehmann
Orion Frantz
Sara Roche
Emery Mott
Chris Velez
Christine Riebock
Matt Wes
Preston Taylor
David Kelling
Kenny Gabe
Cherry Rain
Ronald Stanage


This zine is being donated to the Cleveland Zine Library after review.

Search This Blog

Loading...