zine, [zeen] noun. 1. abbr. of fanzine; 2. any amateurly-published periodical. Oxford Reference

..

Wednesday, November 22, 2006

Mission Statement

Syndicated Zine Reviews exists to facilitate connecting zine writers, artists, and publishers with potential audiences. We believe freedom of expression is the cornerstone of a free society.

In addition to reading and reviewing zines, we reprint from other sources, and gladly accept submissions. There is a variation (lack of consistency) in how information is presented, and a varying degree of objectivity. That's fine with us; we ascribe to a clearinghouse mentality in the belief that consumers benefit more from lots of choices, and are smart enough to take opinions in stride while making up their own minds.

We diligently try to credit our sources on everything, especially all the stuff we steal. If we have overlooked something please let us know.

We need info and updates on all things zines related: distributors, bookstores, libraries, conferences, web sites, free speech, etc.

We welcome (solicit) participation. It is our vision this become an open-source, anti-authoritarian, non-hierarchal project that pretty much runs itself. (we can't stress this enough - ANYONE can reviews zines!) This is more an exercise in practicality and sustainability than an opera of idealism. The evolution and transition of media from print to web has left the zine community scrambling to adjust. Our intention is to help connect the dots.

Please send your comments to quazipseudo at g mail

Tuesday, October 24, 2006

Dan Murphy

Dan Murphy is the creator and publisher of The Juniper, and Elephant Mess. If you wish to swap zines with him, and/or get reviewed by him, send you stuff to:

Dan Murphy
PO Box 9862
Boise ID 83707

http://juniperbug.blogspot.com/

http://awkwardbotany.com/


Monday, October 23, 2006

Stuart Stratu


I started publishing my own comics anthology [Sick Puppy Comix] back in 1996. It wasn't only full of depraved comix from Australia, USA, Canada, and the Netherlands, but a big comix and zine reviews section. I loved writing about this stuff as much as I loved creating it and trading it with others through the mail.

Anyway, thirteen issues of Sick Puppy later I felt burnt out on zines so took a five year break, then came back in 2008 with a new 'themed' comix anthology, Blackguard. The first issue was the Religious Crazies issue. Then came the Father issue, then Crime, then Fear, then Science. Blackguard is on hold right now since I began in 2013 [along with comics pal David Puckeridge] these what we called 'Diary Comics Challenges'.

The whole time, of course, I've written about zines. And I love to drink beer. I love to drink beer and review comics and zines!

If you'd like me to write about YOURS, send it to me here:

Stuart Stratu
PO Box 35
Marrickville NSW 2204
AUSTRALIA

blackguard23.livejournal.com
sstratu/gmail

Monday, October 9, 2006

George Barrington


The Prince of Pickpockets, gentleman rogue, artful adversary,convict,
upholder of the law, and underground literary brand. Proud of the
claim that ninety nine out of one hundred English people associate the
colony of NSW with myself, '...ropes, gibbets, arson, burglary and
Governor MacKenzie.'

Will review *all zines* except for poetry zines. No poetry zines.

GPO BOX 4201 MELBOURNE VIC 3001

Read My Reviews

Friday, September 8, 2006

DJ Frederick

One Minute Zine Reviews is a blog, paper zine, and radio show written by DJ Frederick. One Minute Zine Reviews are currently heard on a number of progressive radio stations. Zines for review are welcomed by: DJ Frederick 36 West Main Street Warner NH 03278 USA.

Reviews are reprinted from One Minute Zine Reviews

Martin Appleby

Martin Appleby publishes zines and has about half a dozen blogs.

"I will only review literary zines (short stories, flash fiction, poetry) and punk zines.
Emai martin-appleby / live.co.uk for address details."

http://www.inpursuitofexpression.com/

Read My Reviews


Laura-Marie

Zine maker, apartment dweller, writer, reader, feminist, and good listener.

I read a lot of zines, I have things to say about them, and I have a scanner for covers. So send me any zines you'd like to for review. Except for music zines, that is. Poetry? Sure! Queer? Absolutely. Perzine? Yes, please. Mental health zine? Extra-special yes. Cookzines? Yes, though I won't make the recipes unless they're vegan. Any other kind of zine? I think so. Just no music zines, please.

Email me for my mailing address at robotmad (gmail).

Reviews reprinted from Laura-Marie's zine reviews

Read My Reviews

Sunday, August 13, 2006

JL Corbett


My name is JL Corbett, and I’m a science-fiction writer from Hull, East Yorkshire. I’m also a woman.

I love writing about aliens and oddities. My short story The Harbinger has both of these things, and was published by Storgy magazine earlier this year. I have a soft spot for short stories; some of my favourites are by Neil Gaiman, Isaac Asimov and Roald Dahl (I know that last one sounds a bit off – just trust me, and read them).

I’m also the editor of Idle Ink, a collaborative zine which focuses on work from new artists and writers. Copies can be bought from our Etsy store or from zine fairs throughout the north of England.


I enjoy reading zines of every type – so whatever you’ve got, send it my way! Contact me at j.l.corbett@outlook.com and I’ll reply with my postal address.  You can also find me on twitter

Monday, July 10, 2006

Tuesday

I like looking at primarily visual zines

Studio Sweet Studio
92 Woodruff Ave. 4B
Brooklyn, NY 11226

TWITTER // @studiosstudio

Sunday, June 18, 2006

Nathan Penlington

Nathan Penlington

Writer, performer and obsessive.

I’ve performed my work around the UK, Europe and in the US and Australia. My last showChoose Your Own Documentary was a live interactive documentary in which the audience gets to vote what happens next. The show won a Fringe First Award at the Edinburgh fringe, and in 2014 I was lucky enough to be asked to perform at Tribeca Film Festival, New York, Sheffield Doc/Fest, and Antenna Documentary Film Festival in Sydney. The Boy in the Book, my first work of non-fiction, was published by Headline in May 2014. An attempt at exhausting a place in London, a collaboration with writer Sarah Lester, and a homage to the work of Georges Perec, will be published by Burning Eye Books in October 2015.

I’m a lifelong zine fan and maker. So I’m interested in reviewing anything you’ve got: perzines, comics, fiction, factual, art, illustration, poetry. Whatever you’ve made - send it my way!

Please email for postal address: info (at) NathanPenlington (dot) com

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

Hannah W

Spill The Zines is an online resource for information about British zines.

Cath writes perzine Here. In My Head and edits feminist comp-zine Artemis. She is also a musician, currently recording an album. You can find her own blog here, and her website here.

send zines to Spill the Zines

READ MY REVIEWS

Catherine Elms

Spill The Zines is an online resource for information about British zines. We are Cath and Hannah, two women in our twenties who live in the UK and write and read zines.

Cath writes perzine Here. In My Head and edits feminist comp-zine Artemis. She is also a musician, currently recording an album. You can find her own blog here, and her website here.

Hannah writes Not Lonely zine and is an old woman in a young body who loves to read, drink tea, sew and converse with her budgie. You can find her own blog here.

send zines to Spill the Zines

READ MY REVIEWS

Jack Cheiky

Site Administrator

Jack Cheiky
11105 Mount Overlook
Cleveland OH 44104

quazipseudo /// gmail

Reviews: My favorites include; art, fiction, mental health, and personal zines of all types. Send me anything except poetry zines.

After review, all zines are donated to the Cleveland Ohio Zine Library located at the Cleveland Heights Public Library, Lee Road Branch.

Facebook: Everything other than reviews is posted on our Facebook page. This includes zine fests and workshops, (#zineevent,) calls for submissions, (#callforsubmission,) and all other bits of news, (#zinelibrary, #zinehistory,) and announcements about new zine releases, (not reviews,) etc.

For anything you want listed on Facebook, simply send me the link.

We still try to keep an up to date list of distros and other zine review sites so email or post all that stuff, as well as inquires about ad rates, and anything else I've left out.

Read My Reviews

Saturday, March 25, 2006

Randy Spaghetti


Randy Spaghetti is a photographer, and creator of the zines Spaghetti Dinner & Dancing, and Darlene Rocknroll Fanzine.. His reviews come from his blog, Randy Spaghetti. Send him stuff.

Randy Spaghetti
POB 121
Hayden ID 83835

Read My Reviews

Thursday, March 23, 2006

Daniel Peralta


My name is Daniel Peralta, and I am currently a student living in a small, dusty town in Tennessee.

Writing, creating, and music are my passions, and getting into the zine and creative world for me has been life-changing. I enjoy Pop Culture, and my favorite music artist is Lorde.

When reading and reviewing zines, I am pretty much open to anything! My favorites include gripping flash-fiction and art zines, as well as any kinds of poetry. However, I am open to anything, like I said!

I run an Etsy shop called MidnightPrintsCo. You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram  @danielp_ph :D

I have been really busy lately, but if you would like to send a zine in for review, please contact me at danielsvperalta (at) g mail (dot) com to see if I can take your submission. Thank you!

Tuesday, March 14, 2006

John Bobst

I've been writing zines for two years now but I've been writing since about the 6th grade. I enjoy perzines because I like being inside other people's heads and seeing how they experience the world. If you send me a perzine that is brutally honest and real, I promise I will enjoy it. Also, anything involving mental health, humor, DIY, comics, and any silliness, nonsense, or whimsy, would be of interest to me.

John Bobst
735 Dartmouth pl.
Gilroy CA 95020

rabblemonster@theforceofnature.net
http://theforceofnature.net

READ MY REVIEWS

Wednesday, February 8, 2006

Nita / Fluxxii Mental Health Distro

Why mental health? We choose to distribute zines about mental health because we want people who are struggling to realize that they are not alone. For those who are going through personal hardships, zines are a good medium to help you connect and heal. If you know someone who is struggling, reading these works can help you understand and help.

Everyone has problems with their mental health at some point in their lives, yet we live in a society that places stigma on the issue and rarely discusses it freely. We would not be able to properly care for ourselves and our loved ones if we didn't truly understand the subject and feel comfortable about it - that's what we're trying to do here. Our goal is to connect people to the resources that they need, encourage people to make their well-being a priority, and remind them that they are never alone.

Fluxxii | 3660 Kent Rd #21, Stow, OH, 44224, USA | (267) 217-FLUX | http://fluxxii.com

Wednesday, February 1, 2006

Matthew Murray aka Tomorrow Boy at 365 Zines a Year

Matthew Murray really likes zines and comics about robots and monsters, but he's read and enjoyed zines on pretty much every topic that exists.

His zine Oblast is up to issue 13 or something, and has devoted issues to everything from Youtube to lindy hop to bicycle trips to the Eurovision song contest.

You can see his reviews at 365 Zines a Year, where he's been reviewing zines and minicomics daily for over a year.

You can email him at tomorrowboy@gmail.com if you want to trade zines or artist trading cards.

Sunday, January 8, 2006

Your Name Here

Read any good zines lately? Send reviews to quazipseudo at gmail.

Search This Blog