zine, [zeen] noun. 1. abbr. of fanzine; 2. any amateurly-published periodical. Oxford Reference

..

Friday, June 9, 2017

Weirdo Zine Fest - 15th July, London

Weirdo Zine Fest 

15th July 2017

Free entry, open 12:00-17:00

Sutton House
2 Homerton High Street 
E9 6JQ 
London

Nearest station is Hackney Central.




Sutton House is an East London Tudor house built in 1535, now owned by the National Trust. Throughout 2017 they are running a series of events and exhibitions developed by, with and for LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer) communities under the banner of Queered:
"Sutton House has always had a bit of an identity crisis. The oldest house in Hackney has been through many changes, which makes it one of the most unusual and unexpected National Trust houses. Much like Sutton House’s varied and colourful history, the word Queer is fluid and ever-changing and the definition is continuously contested. Queer is a way of thinking about things in unexpected ways."
The Weirdo Zine Fest on July 15th is a self-publishing fair celebrating DIY cultural production by radical and marginalised people. It will feature over 20 stallholders including:

Apples to Zines j-applebee.tumblr.com 
Queer Arcana Queerarcana.etsy.com
That’s How It Feels For Me http://rinflum.tictail.com/
Eliza Agar Press https://elizaagarpress.tumblr.com/
Lindsay Draws http://andsomeplyers.bigcartel.com/category/zines-and-prints
Sick Fucks https://jetmoon.org/performance/ddwt/
Charlotte Cooper and Simon Murphy http://charlottecooper.bigcartel.com/
Rachael House/Red Hanky Panky http://www.rachaelhouse.com/fanzines.php
Forever Incomplete www.etsy.co.uk/shop/foreverincomplete
Liv Wynter // WHEREISANAMENDIETA
It Snipped My Heart (Nova Cox and Kate Dansette)
Chisel Tip zine chiseltipzine.tumblr.com
Dysphoria Collective http://dysphoriacollective.bigcartel.com/
Only-two https://www.only-two.tumblr.com/
Sister Ectoplasma Distro - https://www.sisterectoplasma.co.uk/
Cross Words Zines - kirstywinters.etsy.com
FatFemmeFabulous
Vampire Sushi Distro www.vampiresushi.co.uk
Synchronise Witches Press Cherrystyles.co.uk
Cool Schmool Zines - http://coolschmool.bigcartel.com/ 


For more details see the Weirdo Zine Fest Facebook event: facebook.com/events/716759361828973

More about Sutton House Queered: nationaltrust.org.uk/sutton-house-and-breakers-yard/features/sutton-house-queered



I'll be visiting, wearing a Syndicated Zine Reviews t-shirt. If you see me, please come and say hi.
Post by Nathan Penlington

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog